Hi guys,

Why is this topic very rarely spoken about? Why is it still taboo?

I bet there is somebody in your life, suffering with this illness right now! It may be in silence, it may be out in the open but there will be somebody you know with it.

We all have dark days, sad days and hard days…but living with depression can make everything ten times harder. You may not want to get out bed and face the world today, you might want to give up and end it all because nothing matters anyway, right?

WRONG!

There is help out there, and yes it is hard to find and it is hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel. It won’t be easy to get yourself out of depression (and once you’ve dealt with one flare it’s highly likely you will get another), and it certainly won’t be plan sailing.

I was diagnosed with depression at 18…I felt horrendous, I always felt like I wasn’t good enough, not talented enough etc. To this day i still have really dark days but they are getting fewer and fewer…it has been almost a year since my last flare up.

I had a counseller for 3 sessions at which point he discharged me and told me I didn’t need to see him anymore, that I was miraculously cured. However, when I started college that same year my feelings returned tenfold, I had a counsellor for pretty much the whole year I was at college and she helped me tremendously, and I know that counselling doesn’t work for everyone.

Find what helps you face and control your demons, whatever they may be…look in the mirror each day and try to list 10 things that you love about yourself, list your accomplishments and try to find the good out of every situation you’re in and maybe you can help yourself.

If you can’t do that, talk to someone, there is no shame in it and nothing to be afraid of…you may need to try more than once but you and your mind will thank you for it. I can only talk from personal experience and not on how any of you are feeling.

Or, if you know someone with depression, be a listening ear, someone they can turn to in their life when it gets tough. You may not even say anything to them but just being their may help them.

